How to read Gary Coover’s Tablature?

Victor F

Hello I am new to concertina and music and completely self taught so far. How do I learn how to read Gary Coover’s Tablature? I see sheet music I want to play that uses it but I couldn't find much resources online that teach how to read it. 

I have a 30 button anglo concertina that is in Key C-G.

• 3 months later...

Hi Gary

I am very much a novice at reading music and tablature, much like Victor described in his initial note.

While I  look forward to deciphering and learning from your books, I must confess to being quite lost at fully understanding the Tablature Example.

I suspect it is because you are covering so much in the example graphic you posted, and use in your various books, that it’s easy for a complete newbie to be overwhelmed…

Let me try to explain where I get confused.

If the numbers above and below the staff represent the concertina button(s) which match the specific note(s) that appear on the staff, why are there so many other button/numbers shown in the example graphic?

Entirely apart from various notes being duplicated across the concertina, some button/numbers appear to represent the same musical note on the staff, but an octave apart from what is actually shown on the staff, and others appear to represent other notes altogether (perhaps representing cords or ornaments?). What is being represented by these various numbers?

Additionally, some button/numbers are also accompanied by dashes, ostensibly indicating the button should be held for a time, but why do the dashes then not match the length of the note (e.g. quarter, half, whole) shown on the staff?

Lastly, I notice that occasionally there are button/numbers both above and below the horizontal line which is used to indicate a “pull” on the bellows, as with the D Major scale on page 62 of the Easy Anglo 1-2-3 book. How should that be interpreted and applied?