Anglo and English

Hi All,

I am fairly new to concertina's

I am learning the Anglo with the help of Jody ( He is really good and a great help !! )

I have been looking on the web and reading this forum

I just wondered if anyone plays Anglo and English ?

I have never read anyone commenting on doing so

Is it a totally mad idea ?

regards

Karl

Hopefully very shortly I will be playing both; although one of the will not be a "playing with others" instrument.

Greg Jowaisas is restoring an instrument from the mid-1850s for me that appears to be in original high pitch meantone tuning, and keeping it in that tuning. I want to play with 14 notes per octave, and fancy an instrument that was originally in that tuning over a newer one that was placed into it.

This also keeps my streak of "well, sure, you can have a go, but I don't think it plays the way you're used to" concertinas...

I just wondered if anyone plays Anglo and English ?

While far from a majority, I know that several folks do. Some have already been mentioned here.

I'm pretty sure there have been previous threads about the subject, and maybe even a poll or two. Maybe a search using Google would turn them up? (I've pretty well given up on the local search facility, but Google has access to the concertina.net content.)

I myself play mostly English, but also some anglo and Crane duet (even occasionally in performance). Years ago I dabbled a bit with the Maccann duet, and I'm hoping to have a chance later this year to make a serious return to that, as well as working on the Jeffries duet.

Is it a totally mad idea ?

Probably, but madness is fun!
:D

Karl,