The Gael

Folderol

Hello friends! I’ve been playing around with a well known Tune called The Gael, aka The Kiss, aka The Last of The Mohicans theme song. I use to play this on the fiddle but now I’m trying to work through it on the concertina. Has anyone else attempted to learn this? I’m wondering what key would best suit this tune on the squeeze box as I’m still a newbie. When I try to mimic what I did on the fiddle I feel like the notes are going to low and this throws me off! Here are some notes from the session that I’m “kinda following”.

T:The Gael
M:6/8
L:1/8
K:D dorian
|~A,3 FED|EDC DCG,|~A,3 FED|EDC DCA,| 
|~C3 ~E3|GEE EDE|~C3 ~E3|GEE EDE|
|~F3 FEF|GFF FED|~E3 EDE|GEE EDC|
|D3 DCD|FED EDC|DED DCD|FED EDC|

8 hours ago, Folderol said:

...I’m wondering what key would best suit this tune on the squeeze box as I’m still a newbie. When I try to mimic what I did on the fiddle I feel like the notes are going to low and this throws me off!... (my emphasis)

A somewhat naive suggestion, but have you tried simply transposing the whole thing up by one octave (so the key is unchanged)? I just did this, and looking at the score, it looks as if it would 'work'. I haven't tried it because it's 5am here, and I don't want to wake the neighbours.

Here's the ABC code I ended up with...

X:1
T:The Gael
M:6/8
L:1/8
Q:3/8=90
R:Jig
K:Ddor
| ~A3 fed | edc dcG | ~A3 fed | edc dcA | 
| ~c3 ~e3 | gee ede | ~c3 ~e3 | gee ede |
| ~f3 fef | gff fed | ~e3 ede | gee edc |
| d3 dcd | fed edc | ded dcd | fed edc | 

Edited by Roger Hare
  • Thanks 1

It really depends on your instrument. What kind of concertina? How many buttons? What keys? The tune as notated can easily be played as is on a 48-key English concertina, so I’m guessing that’s not what you have.