Jack vs. Jackie

Folks:

I am sure that you must be tired of answering newbie questions about which concertina to buy, but I have searched the forums and made a tentative decision to buy a Jack so I have done some of the work.

I am interested in English (not Irish except for Carolan) tunes, hymns and WWI and WWII soldier's songs (which are often set to hymn tunes). I like the sound of the English concertina especially in the lower registers. The sound samples of the Jack on CC really appeal to me (it is hard to judge the Jackie sounds on CC because they were sampled at such a low bit-rate that they sound as if they are being recorded underwater).

But. There have been a few postings that hint that baritone English concertinas, including the Jack, are not easy for beginners to use - and I would be a rank beginner who would have to be self-taught.

My questions:

- Would I be hobbling myself by buying a Jack right away, or should I buy a Jackie instead even if I find its sound not quite to my taste? (Just how 'honky' is the Jackie anyway?)

- If I do buy a Jackie now and later want to buy a Jack as well then would there be any re-learning required? I understand that they are an octave apart so if I learn some tunes on a Jackie then can I later pick up a Jack and play the same tunes in the same key in the same way on a Jack or would other adaptations have to be made - different key and/or different fingering?

Thanks in advance,

Don.

Folks:

The sound samples of the Jack on CC really appeal to me (it is hard to judge the Jackie sounds on CC because they were sampled at such a low bit-rate that they sound as if they are being recorded underwater).

My questions:

................ (Just how 'honky' is the Jackie anyway?)

Thanks in advance,

Don.

Hi Don

Maybe these different sound samples will help you decide:

Jack

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ALqNzEDCKnE&fmt=18

Jackie

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iodSvF5M6n8&fmt=18

Thanks

Leo

Thanks Leo: