Helping About Concertina Layout

Hello, this is my first post in the forum, I'm Felix Castro, from Galicia - Spain, I play anglo and I have a Dipper C. Clare model and a Lachenal, 32 buttons with birds button both.

My question is that I ordered an A-4 Suttner concertina 2 years and a half ago, and now I must begin to decide the layout I want for it.

I play mainly galician tradicional music, mostly diatonic music but in a wide range of keys, and some times irish music, but I am know play with some acompaniament too (basic chords or notes).

My usual layout is the wheatstone sistem with the C# doubled in the 1st button of the 3rd row of the right side and the Eb in the additional button of the left side.

Any suggestions?

I am studying the Jeffries layout that is in the Suttner's web page and the 40 wheatstone's layout but they are very different.

I think I want to adapt the 40 wheatstone system to the 38 buttons suttner model but I find some additional buttons in the wheatstone system ilogical because it duplicates notes that the concertina has already but it miss other sharp or flat notes that I think they are more useful.

Thankyou very much for your reply

Felix Castro

sniff I must wait one year and a half more for my concertina sniff.

Hi Felix

Welcome to this community! I found in this forum a discussion that may be interesting for you.

I also digged up a discussion on Jeffries and Wheatstone layout.

I wish you a lot of patience during the coming 1.5 year!

Henk

edited to insert a second link

Edited by Henk van Aalten

Congrats on your new concertina and welcome to the forum. Hope you keep on posting even after you get your answer.

I can't help you with the design but lots of people can and will.

Helen

Hi Felix,

A very difficult question!