Day 1 learning my concertina

Hello everyone,

So I just bought an Elise Hayden Duet Concertina,  this will really be my first instrument. So I have no musical knowledge to speak of. The instrument is actually due to arrive later today.
I am the type to get disheartened in a new hobby, so I am trying to prepare myself for how I should go about learning this instrument, and enjoying myself as much as possible. I am hoping to eventually learn to play songs from my past (so largely songs from Zelda, Mario and such), and then grow into other areas. Just giving that last sentence to give you an idea of my initial interests.

So my question is, what should I focus on to make this as good an experience as possible for myself, and allow me to grow?

Also, a thanks to everyone on this forum already, as the reason I went forward with buying one in the first place, is this place seemed to be supportive in both finding a decent instrument that fit my needs, and knowledge, as well as a supportive community!

32 minutes ago, Invertigo said:

So my question is, what should I focus on to make this as good an experience as possible for myself, and allow me to grow?

Have you seen this here thread?

A fair number of the suggestions also apply to your question.

Other than that: Totally impossible to say. Each person's journey through the world of music is unique and individual. It all depends on what you wish to accomplish and what kind of musical intuition you have. 

My personal advice would be to hook up with other musicians as soon as you possibly can. It will be both a potentially frustrating and the most important experience ever.

Good luck!

8 hours ago, Invertigo said:

...I will give that https://concertutor.wordpress.com/ a read over though for sure...

Maybe I'm missing something vital, but that tutor appears to be for an Anglo? The OP states that they have a Duet?

Aren't the two systems incompatible?

Whatever, here is another Duet tutor...