New online lesson launched by McNeela (taught by Jack Talty)

gtotani

I've signed up for this course even though I've been playing for 3 years. It seems well designed. The videos are uncomplicated with the fingers being clearly shown and Jack's voice is distinct and measured . He is spending the first few lessons emphasising good habits while introducing the notes and scales. Diagrams and notation are shown in the video at appropriate times and are always available on the page to be downloaded in pdf form. Each lesson so far is quite short and has points where a pause for practice is suggested.

• Like 1

• 2 weeks later...

Early on he says he plays a Wheatstone layout, but like Paul above I haven't gotten very far.  I play Jeffries (more specifically the Carroll variation that has three C#s on the RH outside row), but I can't imagine it will make a lot of difference, and he may well go over both fingering options on specific tunes.

I'm only on lesson 6 or 7, and I'm enjoying it so far, even though it's basic stuff, and I'm an intermediate player.  Like Caitlin's irishconcertinalessons.com, you get closeups of both hands to help see the fingering.  Caitlin walks you through the notes with a lot more repetition, which is helpful.  But Jack, so far, talks more (so far) about technique, best practices, and things to avoid.

I was surprised to see that on only the second or third tune presented, Jack gets into harmony/chord options.  That's good from my perspective, as my own playing is limited in that area.