Anglo keys

I'm new here and pretty much a beginner to the Anglo so forgive me if this sounds like a really dumb question! I'm not ready to buy a three row instrument yet so I'm playing a 2 row Lachenal C/G which is great for simple modal tunes or major tunes in the home keys but very restricted otherwise. Before I commit to a more expensive instrument, I'm wondering if anyone has any experience of playing a 2 row Anglo that is not in the key relationship 1/5? (This possibility is not mentioned in the notes "If It's Not A C/G, What Is It?" by Ken Coles) I recently saw a Lachenal advertised for sale as a D/Bb. Perhaps this is an Eb/Bb that has been retuned? But on a purely conceptual level the choice of D/Bb seems to me far more flexible as it makes available 4 out of the 5 accidentals compared to only one on a C/G. Or am I missing the point?

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Chris, I'm not a muscial expert, but I think your focus on the extra accidentals misses the fact that those keys won't give you all the naturals that for instance you get on a C/G concertina. A 30 button concertina gives you more note choices -- regardless of key combinations -- but then a 38 button concertina gives you even more options. If you are playing alone, it's not a problem, but if you want to play in a session, then you would probably need those naturals to play in G or D but wouldn't need those extra accidentals.

For concertina people who want the whole chromatic spectrum, there's the choice of English concertinas or duets. And button accordion folks solve the problem by having the two keys adjacent like B/C or C#/D. Of course, by having the concertina keys a fifth apart, you have great chord capabilities.