Sessions: What is a Newbie to Do?

I was reading the thread on Session Snobbery, and thought perhaps something outlining sessions might be helpful. (To me, at least!)

I consider myself an "advanced beginner" in terms of music--I've been playing violin for 8 years, fiddle for 5 or so and concertina (English system) since last April, teaching myself. It's not my playing itself that makes me "beginner" in my mind, I've been hired to play (and asked to come back!) and I can usually keep up, I often test myself by playing along with CDs of my favorite groups. I look at what I can't do-learn tunes by ear quickly (as in right there at the session), and playing in high positions on fiddle is a challenge the first time through.

Although I think I'm a decent/relatively good player (this is mostly going on my fiddle playing-concertina has a way to go yet) I know I have very little experience actually playing with other people, and my shyness and stage fright can make sessions daunting, along with the fact that I'm not always sure I'm thinking of the same thing.

The "sessions" that I've been to have been mainly gatherings at living history events of friends who invite friends who invite friends that play music and we get a little bit of everything, mostly a selection of Irish, Scottish and English tunes, sometimes old-time-ified and songs ranging from Zen Gospel Singing (don't ask) the the Darby Ram to a few sea chanties thrown in. It's a lot of fun and we go in a circle with everyone choosing a song, everyone who knows joins in, the song ends and the next person gets to choose. That's what started me on this path of traditional music, and it's where I get the chance to play most often (a few times a year for a week or so at a time). It's very relaxed, everyone is visiting and just playing songs they like for fun.