Song-Air with LH Tab for Harmonic Anglo

Steve Moore

"Joy to the Person of my Love" is a baroque era, courtly Scots song with lovely 6-chord minor to major harmonies.   It is also played very slowly.  As such it makes a good exercise for harmonic Anglo on the Left Hand following tab conventions of G Coover.    I've left it to the player to work out the right hand melody, with just a couple of footnoted suggestions.  I'm new at this, finding the voicings and getting my fingers to the more distant buttons, so comments and suggestions welcome.

Joy to the Person of My Love_Am.docx

I have taken the liberty of typing this in ABC. I hope that is OK.

This unfortunately has to be minus your anglo tablature as I am not sure how to accommodate that in ABC notation.

X:339
T:Joy to the Person of My Love
T:17th cent. Scots song/air in Am
M:4/4
L:1/8
K:Am
|:"Am"a2 ef "C"g3c|"Dm"defg "Am"e3e|"Dm"dcBA "E"B3A|"Am"A4-A4:|
|:"Am"ABcd "Em"e2 ab|"Am"c'a"G"bg "F"a2 ef|"C"g2 f/e/d/c/ "G"d3c|"C"c4-c4:|
|:"C"g2 ec "Em"g3g|"Am"aAcd "Em"e3e|"Dm"dcBA "E"B3A|"Am"A4-A4:|

On 12/17/2023 at 1:54 PM, John Wild said:

I have taken the liberty of typing this in ABC. I hope that is OK.

This unfortunately has to be minus your anglo tablature as I am not sure how to accommodate that in ABC notation. (my emphasis)

T:17th cent. Scots song/air in Am
K:Am
|:"Am"a2 ef "C"g3c|"Dm"defg "Am"e3e|"Dm"dcBA "E"B3A|"Am"A4-A4:|
|:"Am"ABcd "Em"e2 ab|"Am"c'a"G"bg "F"a2 ef|"C"g2 f/e/d/c/ "G"d3c|"C"c4-c4:|
|:"C"g2 ec "Em"g3g|"Am"aAcd "Em"e3e|"Dm"dcBA "E"B3A|"Am"A4-A4:|

The 'easiest' ways to add tabs are using 1) text annotations; 2) lyrics (w:) lines; 3) symbol (s:) lines. There are pluses and minuses for each approach, and all are to some extent 'messy'...

The code below is an edited version of the code posted by John Wild, and uses method 2) which is my preferred option. Using '^' for pull can be replaced with '_' for pull, though this uses two w: lines for each line of tabs...