How Do I Learn How To Tune And Work On Reeds?

I'm a new member of the concertina net and new to the forums. I've been a player of English concertinas for many years and just had what appears to be an old Wheatstone dropped in my lap. I would like to restore it but my biggest fear is tuning or dealing with the reeds in any way. I have plenty of experience keeping my tenon treble aeola alive by cleaning buzzing reeds etc, but no experience overhauling an old instrument like this. I can replace parts I'm sure (with minimal help) and deal with wood issues, but reeds are another thing. How would a guy from Minneapolis learn how to do this?

I fear that this instrument may not be worth it since the reeds appear to be mostly brass with some steel replacements. Can brass and steel reeds coexist and work together or should I bag this project?

Here is the instrument in question.

post-10822-0-82766500-1383411106_thumb.jpg

post-10822-0-49530700-1383411117_thumb.jpg

post-10822-0-49862900-1383411129_thumb.jpg

post-10822-0-15858000-1383411137_thumb.jpg

I'm sure Don Nichols is a nice man and concertina aficionado but I would beware his advice about using a powered grinding wheel.

Please! I repeat: Please!! Keep your concertina's reeds away from an electric powered grinding tool, Dremel, dentist drill etc. I have seen evidence of these tools' use on ruined and compromised concertina reeds in what otherwise would have been fine instruments.

Tuning involves removing reed material. Remove too much and you can compromise a reed's sound, response and integrity. Things can happen quickly, too quickly! with a powered grinding wheel. Personally I only use a file if I am making a reed from raw spring steel.

For tuning purposes I find a little patience and 220 grit sanding paper glued to a wooden tool (See Dave Elliott's "Concertina Repair and Maintenance Manual) more than adequate to the task.