Appropriate Concertina For 1st Time Player

AnnW

My daughter is very musical (1st chair oboe in All State orchestra and band in High School), many piano awards, and self-taught guitar last winter. She is about to turn 21, and I'd like to get her a concertina. She would be using it for her own enjoyment, as well as entertaining friends and others in her dorm. From the research I've done, I'm thinking an Anglo would be best - since it has more notes. Also, I am leaning toward a 30-key. She doesn't have much room for storage, and am hoping this won't be too big. She is a big fan of French movies - or anything French - and it seems the background music in French films is accordion or concertina. I've been shopping on EBay and have found a new Anglo, 30-key for $100. The seller didn't know what key it was in (or at least the person who answered my email question). What do you think of this offer? Thanks SO MUCH for your assistance. If I should be looking at something else, I'd appreciate knowing as well. She would also need an instruction and music book. HELP!!

Hi Ann,

If your daughter is going to want to play French music, the concertina may not be the best choice. Most French music is the piano accordion or the button accordion. If she plays the piano already, the piano accordion would be pretty intuitive. The size (and the volume) of the instrument would be the problem in a dorm situation though.

If though she might be interested in Irish folk music or another types of melody oriented music, the anglo would be great. Concertinas are the perfect size for dorm life. I live in a dorm and have no trouble playing without annoying others. It is small enough to have in the room without being a bother and portable enough to take with you if you want to play outside or with friends.

Hi,