Drudwen

Hi there.

I am in the process of choosing my first concertina, English system. Amongst the many that I have looked at, my local music shop is offering me a 48 key Drudwen at just a little more cost than a Jackie/Jack. I have been unable to find any independent information about Drudwen and am wondering whether anyone knows anything about them? (German made reeds apparently) The Concertina Connection instruments seem to come up regularly as recommended for a beginner - although I am a competent musician in other spheres, this is a bit of a minefield and I would appreciate any help in making a choice. I am in the UK by the way. Many thanks

From a point of view of ecconomics ; buy a vintage instrument... Wheatstone or Lachenal etc... Reason? Because they hold their value... "the day you buy is the day you sell".

From the standpoint of playability; buy a vintage instrument... the superior quality both of sound and action... the longevity and repairablility....

You are in the UK; plenty available!

This pertains to the English... if you choose Anglo then the case may differ.

Sorry never heard of Drudwen.

Edited by Geoff Wooff

Hi Geoff, thanks for that, my suspicion is that the Drudwen is a spot of 'badge engineering' from the likes of Stagi et al. Vintage worries me because I have no experience with concertinas and no-one that I know plays one - part of the reason for taking it up! I fear buying myself a problem, especially when you see the range of prices of Lachenals for instance - is it a bargain or a dud? At least new the outcome is dependable even if not the best. Ho-hum; nothing can be simple. Thanks.