Help

TOD

I've just bought a 20 Key anglo concertina, just a cheapy to see if I could get a tune out of it.

I've been playing guitar for 20 years and I can get a tune out of a harmonica and a D whistle. I play guitar with a trad group (not strictly session as we do a lot of ballad based stuff and only a handful of instrumentals) and can play fairly complex DADGAD and open string arragements.

I'm an audio engineer by trade and have produced a number of rock and folk records. I don't sight read although I can decipher notation. All in all its fair to say I have a reasonable grounding in music.

Problem is I can't even get a simple scale out of the concertina! Ok I've only had it two days but I expected to be at least able to play Twinkle Twinkle by this stage.

I just need a simple scale diagram to get me started, I should be able to figure out chords and harmonies down the line, but for now I just need to know which notes the buttons play!

You don't say whether your instrument is a C/G or a G/D, but this should get you started. As you have already found your way around the harmonica, think of each row as a harmonica, broken in half with the left half on the left end and the right half on the right end. 20 keys = 2 10-hole harmonicas in two keys (usually C/G or G/D, as above, but occasionally other keys).

Ask Alan Day for his free tutorial CD.

You don't say whether your instrument is a C/G or a G/D, but this should get you started. As you have already found your way around the harmonica, think of each row as a harmonica, broken in half with the left half on the left end and the right half on the right end. 20 keys = 2 10-hole harmonicas in two keys (usually C/G or G/D, as above, but occasionally other keys).

Ask Alan Day for his free tutorial CD.

It is now available on a free download from the following site

http://www.etanbenami.com/Anglo%20Concertina%20Tutor

Al

Good job, Alan. Why not put a link to it on your page (the link in my previous post)?