Beginner Looking For An English (in England!)

peelypost

Hi! This is my first post, as I'm new to concertinas.

About me - piano player and singer for getting on for 20 years. I used to gig a lot in an Acid Jazz band but haven't done much musically for the past couple of years, but now wanting to get back into playing.

I'm wanting to start playing English Concertina (I want the chromatic!), basically because it is so portable and would go very nicely with piano and vocals.

I would be interested in....

• ...comments on a new Scarlatti 48 key Concertina; Hobgoblin tell me that it is a good beginner's instrument, and the build quality is much better now that it used to be. It is also affordable for me.
  • ...advice on whether I need to worry about tuning.
  • ...hearing from anyone who has an English for sale in UK.

I look forward to hearing from anyone able to help!

Cheers,

Neil (Loughborough, UK)

Here's a Jackie 30 button on ebay. It will knock spots off the Scarlatti and the last one sold on ebay a few weeks ago for less than £100. You'll be very disappointed with a Scarlatti, I wouldn't even grace it with the name 'instrument'.

The thirty button layout does give you limitations but you'll need a lot more wonga to get a playable 48 key.

Search around the forum for many other discussions regarding entry level instruments.

Hi! This is my first post, as I'm new to concertinas.

About me - piano player and singer for getting on for 20 years. I used to gig a lot in an Acid Jazz band but haven't done much musically for the past couple of years, but now wanting to get back into playing.

I'm wanting to start playing English Concertina (I want the chromatic!), basically because it is so portable and would go very nicely with piano and vocals.

I would be interested in....