Numbers Over The Notes

joe0490

Hi all

I am new at the concertina and need some help. I have downloaded some song and thay have numbers above the notes. Sometimes one sometimes more. I have a 20 button concertina and would like to know how thay apply to it, if at all.

Would someone have a website that could set me right.I know what note is on what button,but what do the numbers stand for.?

Thanks much for the help

Joe B

Hi all

I am new at the concertina and need some help. I have downloaded some song and thay have numbers above the notes. Sometimes one sometimes more. I have a 20 button concertina and would like to know how thay apply to it, if at all.

Would someone have a website that could set me right.I know what note is on what button,but what do the numbers stand for.?

Thanks much for the help

Joe B

Hi Joe

Without seeing the music it might be difficult to pin down. Just a guess is that it would be finger placement. One finger one note, two fingers two notes (chords). Depends on the origination of the music, piano maybe.

There is a nice discussion on the subject here: http://www.concertina.net/forums/index.php...ic=6196&hl=

Hope I guessed correctly :unsure:

Thanks

Leo

Edited by Leo

Another possibility would be that the numbers refer to buttons, for readers who don't read music. The old German-made 20-button concertinas often had numbered buttons.

Daniel

Hi all

Thanks much for the help

Joe B

Hi Joe

Without seeing the music it might be difficult to pin down. Just a guess is that it would be finger placement. One finger one note, two fingers two notes (chords). Depends on the origination of the music, piano maybe.

There is a nice discussion on the subject here: http://www.concertina.net/forums/index.php...ic=6196&hl=

Hope I guessed correctly :unsure:

Thanks

Leo