If You Can Only Afford A Stagi?

I realize that this question will earn me the disdain of many contributers to this site. However, I'm a poor but honest (usually) weaver and musician with a kid in college and personal income suffering dreadfully form the state of the economy. Money, however, isn't everything, and I've been obsessed with my anglo concertina lately and feel the need to upgrade to a 30 button model.

Here's the question. If I were to buy a Stagi (continue reading after the retching ends) would I do better by buying one from a dealer who specializes in squeeze boxes, and who checks out and tunes these instruments to concert pitch, or from a dealer who sells them as he gets them, even if there is a price difference of a couple hundred dollars?

If I bought the cheaper one and sent it to a firm who tunes the little boogers, would that eat up all of my $200?

And finally, how badly in tune are these things likely to be. I've been a semi-professional musician, and a piano tuner/technician for 30 years or so, so tuning does matter to me, although I don't forsee palying with a bunch of other musicians for a while. I live in Montana, see, and sessions are far between.

I realize some of you folks have concertina building and retail operations, and that these questions tread on delicate nerves, but I would apprecialte all of the input you can, in good conscience, provide. I promise, if I ever reach the level where I can justify doing so, I will buy a concertina from one of you--or at least get you to repair a vintage gem.

My sincere thanks for your advice.

Jim

WHERE ANGLES FEAR TO TREAD!

Here we go:

Jim,

Since you mention upgrade to a 30b, one assumes you have experience with the excentricities of the instrument.

Especially the need for repairs. ( I have not known of a player that at some time or other, didn't have to effect some sort of repair(s), usually during a session.)