Balkan Tunes for Concertina

Hi all, 

I am a beginner player of Anglo concertina (about one year in) and have so far learned mostly Irish tunes and some Old Time fiddle tunes I have arranged for concertina. In a few weeks I will be going on a trip to Serbia to visit friends, and am looking to bring my concertina with me. Does anybody have any suggestions for Balkan tunes they have heard/arranged for concertina I could learn before my trip? I know it's not popularly played in the traditional music there, but I am hoping to give it a try. 

Thank you all 

Posted (edited)
8 hours ago, banjo2concertina said:

...Does anybody have any suggestions for Balkan tunes they have heard/arranged for concertina I could learn before my trip? I know it's not popularly played in the traditional music there, but I am hoping to give it a try...

I have little or no expertise/knowledge of Eastern European music, but here's a selection of tunes from my 'master tune book' which appear to have some claim to being 'Serbian'. I'll make no comment other than that to me, the origin attributions of some of these tunes sometimes seems a little dubious?

I've removed tunes in seriously weird keys and meters, and left in the source attributions so that you stand at least a chance of tracking down the originals if you are so inclined, because (warning!) I have edited all of these a little...

I've attached all the tunes as an ABC file, plus one tune as a PDF so you can see what it looks like. If you are not familiar with ABC, I will post a PDF of the complete selection. If you want simple tablature, I will post a PDF with (ABT) tabs.

MirkovoKolo.pdf

serbia.abc

Edited by Roger Hare
  • Like 1

38 minutes ago, banjo2concertina said:

Thank you very much ! I will check them out and see what I can do in terms of learning them ..