Air button on Stagi

Hello. I'm brand new to the concertina, and to forums (fora?) like this. I have acquired a "beater/learner" Stagi 30 button anglo, which has some redeeming characteristics (such as, it's mine) but the air button is almost unreachable. I am contemplating rigging an extension to make it about 3/8 inch closer to my thumb, but imagine there's an elegant fix extant in the community. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

David

Hello. I'm brand new to the concertina, and to forums (fora?) like this. I have acquired a "beater/learner" Stagi 30 button anglo, which has some redeeming characteristics (such as, it's mine) but the air button is almost unreachable. I am contemplating rigging an extension to make it about 3/8 inch closer to my thumb, but imagine there's an elegant fix extant in the community. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

David

David,

I also have a 30-b Stagi (metal ends) - which is not a "beater" but has been my gigging instrument for well over 10 years now. My bandmates actually prefer its sound over that of my Lachenal duet! So don't knock Stagis!!

I admit Ihat I had problems with the air button at the start. Not that it was too far away, but rather that it was too short, and my thumb hit the "shoulder" of the palm-rest before the air-button was fully depressed. Like you, I thought of some lever gadget, but finally settled for a longer button. I made it out of a piece of 5 mm chromed brass rod from a wash-basin plug mechanism, filing and drilling the inner end to match the original. No problems since then!

As to the position: my Stagi air-button lies nicely under the middle of the last joint of my thumb. I can't imagine there being much difference between different Stagi 30-b models, and you say you're "brand new to the concertina", so could it perhaps be that you aren't putting your hands far enough into the handstraps? (I assume you keep your thumb outside the handstrap ...)