Irish Music

jgerhard

Well if you are looking for something that can be played at the local session....

Mind you I have only been playing a few weeks really (but fooling around for a few months) and I am doing it with a fair bit of experience on the B/C button accordion, and so far all the tunes I know on the concertina I knew on the button accordion first (And since i am still learning the accordion and adding new tunes that may remain the case for a while); that being said, I found that the Balleydesmond Polka #3 and the Lilting Banshee Jig are both pretty easy. The Kesh is not too hard either though i find it helps if you play at least part of the B part on the G row (On the c row most of the notes are on the pull and I usually run out of air).

Hope you find this short list a helpful start.

--

Bill

You can't to better than Frank Edgley's books with accompaning CD's. One of the best collection of standard tunes around. If you are new to the concertina, his instructional book would be very valuable. He is a member of the forum and an advertisiing sponsor of concertina.net.

Dan

Well if you are looking for something that can be played at the local session....

Local sessions differ considerably in the tunes they play. If you want something you can play at your local session, go to it and ask the "regulars" the names of tunes everybody seems to know which are also not too complex. Even better if you can make outside-the-session contact and get them to teach you some of the tunes. You'll quickly discover which ones are accessible at your current level.

...I found that the Balleydesmond Polka #3 and the Lilting Banshee Jig are both pretty easy.  The Kesh is not too hard either...