Stagi Anglo W-15-ln

Hi, I started playing concertina last summer, so I'm still a real beginner, although there are a few slow simple tunes I can play with some pals of mine that don't sound bad. I started out on a used 30-button anglo I got for $100, it had no name, but the tuning was good and it sounded decent (better than several other cheap concertinas I've tried). But there were a few slow and sticky reeds, and the response wasn't great. I opened it up, and it was glued together so I couldn't get at most of the reeds without risking destroying the instrument. So I decided to get a better box, but I'm not ready to appreciate or judge the merits of a high-end or vintage concertina. So I ended up getting the Stagi 30-button anglo with "improved action," the W-15-LN. I'd tried the W-15-MS, and thought it sounded and played better than my cheap box. The W-15-LN does seem to have a somewhat faster and tighter action, although I do like the looks of the wooden ends of the MS better than the black lacquered LN.

So, the Stagi responds quicker, all the reeds work fine, the bellows seem a bit more efficient, the air button vents quicker, and the leather bellows smell nice. But, there are a few issues I wanted to discuss.

First of all, the C#/D# button (#1 on the upper row on the right side) started sticking. I took it apart, and while the insides look a bit nicer than my old one, it's still clearly not a high-end instrument. I couldn't see what was making the key stick, so I tried rubbing the walls of the hole the button comes through with pencil lead, to "lubricate" it a bit with graphite. This did seem to make the button move a bit smoother (I may do it to the other buttons), but it still stuck.