Hello

Hello, I'm new to your forum, and to the world of concertinas in general.

I have been playing the fiddle for about 7 years or so, and always loved the sound of the concertina, as well. So, this summer after seeing one up close, I decided that I HAD to have one...... I did some research, and decided I'd like to try the English system, as I don't think I could figure out two notes per button!

If anyone has advise for me, I'd love to hear it. I'm a bit daunted by the whole thing, it's quite different than strings! I'm excited though, to join another musical community.

What is your price range? I made the transition from mandolin to concertina without too much heartache. If your budget is around the $300 range, I would suggest a Jackie or Jack. I bought my Jackie from Ebay and feel like it has a very nice sound for the price. It's not a Wheatstone, but it was what I could afford. The more experienced players in this forum will probably have more sound advice and some other questions, like what kind of music do you want to play and others.

Hello and welcome. The forum is a wonderful place, full of lively debate and friendly advice. Take a bit of time to browse through the various sections and read up on the many questions previously posted about the relative merits of the various types of concertina - English isn't the only type with the same note push and pull. Then there's the hoary question of where you start. New/secondhand/vintage instrument; cheap and cheerful, mid priced workhorse, bespoke handmade antique of the future. The list goes on...

Give us a rough idea of where in the world you are and the kind of music you are interested in. There may be a c.net member close by who can give you a little guidance and perhaps let you 'have a go' to see if your interest will ever amount to anything and help you decide on the concertina type/price range that's best for you.