New Rochelle, No A

I just got my new Rochelle today and the A pull button on the right hand doesn't seem to work. All I get is air, no note. Any ideas on what this could be? I'm not very excited about sending it back to the Netherlands since I just got it. I'm fairly handy and I understand how the instrument works (more or less)

... is this something I might be able to fix?

Also, the bellows seem much more rigid than I expected. Is this normal with a new concertina? I'm a beginner and I have no clue how hard they should be to push/ pull.

Thanks.

A pull button on the right hand doesn't seem to work. All I get is air, no note. Any ideas on what this could be?

Is it the air button? Then it is ok. You will need it.

No it is the A (as in note) button in the G row on the right hand. Not the air button.

I just got my new Rochelle today and the A pull button on the right hand doesn't seem to work. All I get is air, no note. Any ideas on what this could be? I'm not very excited about sending it back to the Netherlands since I just got it. I'm fairly handy and I understand how the instrument works (more or less)

... is this something I might be able to fix?

Also, the bellows seem much more rigid than I expected. Is this normal with a new concertina? I'm a beginner and I have no clue how hard they should be to push/ pull.

Thanks.

The non-sounding button (especially if it's a very high note) could be caused by dust in the reed. If you can identify the reed, carefully running a small, thin piece of paper between the reed and the reed frame may solve the problem. If that makes you nervous, you could try blowing on the reed first (preferably with a mechanical device rather than your mouth to avoid getting moisture on the reed) to see if that takes care of it.

I'd strongly recommend that anybody who encounters a problem with a Rochelle (or Jack/Jackie) gets directly in touch with Wim Wakker through the email address on the Concertina Connection website.