Preferred Keyboard Layout

Hi gang,

Let me preface this query with the fact that I am a novice, newby, what-have-you in terms of the anglo concertina. I am still playing a 20b older Hohner I bought a bunch of years ago, and rarely took out of the box. Last October, I got it out, and started playing a few tunes, sort of like a harmonica you don't need to blow, wound up at this site, and noticed that folks were playing Irish type tunes on these instruments. I had always thought that the tunes I heard were played on English concertinas, but I stand corrected. A little research, a video and a tutor later, coupled with nightly practice, and I'm severely hooked.

I do have an inexpensive, used 30b on the way, but I suspect I'll be wanting to upgrade in a year or so to one of the gorgeous instruments I have located through advertisements on this site. Actually, it will take me that long to save enough money to do that, but there are things to think about. The Bertram Levy tutor shows two keyboard layouts for the 30b anglo, the "Wheatstone/Bastari" and the "Jeffries." So, here's my question to all of you whatever you ares out there (see the "concertinaist" thread elsewhere in the general forum category): Which layout do you prefer for Celtic/Irish sorts of playing? Levy says the "Wheatstone/Bastari" layout has some notes that are probably amusing to dogs, but almost to high for the audible range of humans. Well, he doesn't quite put it that way, but he implies it. So all of you experienced anglo Irish music players out there reply to this. That way I, and maybe a few others, will have some notion how to proceed when it comes time to place that order for the mid priced concertina of my dreams.

Sound and action are features I'll have to work out at a later date. Since I live on the moon (Moontana, actually) my chances of actually laying my hands on enough instruments to make an intelligent decision about such matters are very slim.

Thanks for your time and consideration.