Anglo Tutors Vs English Concertina Etc

Susanne

As you all (or, some) know, I started learning English concertina two months ago, I downloaded some tutor book from the internet, but I didn't think it was much of use, mostly just tunes and simple music theory. Do you have experiences from the anglo tutors? Are there things there that are useful for English players?

What I would like to know, are there things I should think of when I learn playing or is it just to play? My tutor book had a little chapter about bellows control, and said that the bellows were to be compared with bowing when playing fiddle, that the tune should be ended with closed bellows. Should I think of where I change "bellows direction" on an English concertina? (I don't hear any difference, and since it's the same tone whether I push or pull, there shouldn't be any difference) Do you folks play this way or do you just play? Will anything be a limitation later if I don't think of it now?

I've learned to move around over the keys, I can play by sheet music and a little by ear (but that is slower). I concentrate on learning tunes and building up a repertoire. Do you think I should work on something else? With my beginner's eyes i don't see that there could be some technical stuff to work on. More timing issues, flow etc.

... and said that the bellows were to be compared with bowing when playing fiddle...
Good! More people should think seriously about this ;)
... Should I think of where I change "bellows direction" on an English concertina?
Nope. What you should/could do, after a while, is to time the bellows change to the start of the next bar or the start of a new phrase. On my horribly battered, leaky little Stagi, I change when I think "Gosh, it's too late..." (and it often is :D )