Buying Help!

cortezthekiller

Hey now,

I am new here. I have been playing music for probably 10-11 years. I play the piano, guitar, and within the past year or so I have picked up the melodica too. I've become a big fan of the sound produced by free reed instruments---

I was looking to take up the concertina, and I have been looking on ebay for deals. Keep in mind i have VERY little money, and I found a deal for a bastari concertina at http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewI...AMEBI%3AIT&rd=1

I bid on it, but now I am having second thoughts after a bit more research. Should I expect this to be in tune and usable when I get it? The man said it has no problems with the buttons or bellows. Is this something that I shouldn't expect to be any good... Im not looking for top of the line, but something that sounds good at least. thanks!

Edited by cortezthekiller

Welcome to concertina.net! This site has a wealth of information on all things concertinal.

Regarding your question, the Buyers' Guide section is a good place to start. Also a search in these forums will turn up other threads which started with a question very like yours.

Samantha

Should I expect this to be in tune and usable when I get it?
No. But then again, most cheap concertinas - even brand new ones - won't be in tune, though how "usable" depends upon what you consider that to be.

I expect that box to be about the same out-of-tuneness as new cheap ones though it may have a few more of the same problems (double-sounding notes, leaks, slow to respond reeds, action hang-ups, etc.) that many new ones have and fixing them won't take appreciably longer. If you're reasonable handy (and with some advice from the group here) you should be able to take care of it yourself. The nice thing about this box is that if you can get it considerably less than a new box, you'll be 'way ahead of the game!