One note louder than others..

Hello All,

I tried and failed to find a previous discussion on this issue; on my relatively new and by no means cheap concertina I've noticed that the middle D/C note sounds noticeably louder than it's pals. I'm a rank amateur at repairs and adjustments, although I am learning slowly. But I'm stumped as to what to do with this one. Any help would be much appreciated, thanks!

Ruairi

Obvious answer: contact the people you bought it from.

You've probably figured out that concertinas are mechanically complex beasts, and it's not uncommon for new (or old) instruments to need a bit of fettling. A reputable seller should do that for you, within reason. You will still want/need to do a bit of basic servicing yourself, though, and the best resources for that are (a) this forum* and (b) Dave Elliott's Concertina Maintenance Manual.

*Except for me. I haven't a clue how to fix one note sounding louder than the others.

Yes, concertinas are quite complex mechanisms, and issues can arise, especially when you think how they are to be used so thoroughly when played!

There may be any number of reasons notes sound different; some may buzz more, others maybe more breathy in tone. Once one of my own  instruments note buzzed, for example, and I found it needed dust blowing out; and that did the job.

As for louder more, hard for me to say; but if it's new, I would not attempt to open it yourself, until more competent in such matters.. maybe it is just it's individual character and how it is.. they are all different, not fully mass produced and will vary in their sound, even on one instrument!

Edited by SIMON GABRIELOW