Converting sheet music to the 1a to 10 numbering system..

James66

Hello, I’m fairly new to the concertina, having been playing for around 9 months on a 30 button Stagi.  I’ve been working my way through Gary Coover’s book, ‘Anglo Concertina in the Harmonic Style’.  I’ve managed to get around half way through it, and like the 1a to 10 numbering system..

The tricky bit for me is what to do when presented with a piece of sheet music WITHOUT the 1a to 10 numbering system.. so far what I’ve done is write the numbers onto the sheet music (provided its my copy of course!), using page 11 of Gary’s book too, so as to make sure that I’ve got the right numbers for the correct key.

My question is, is there a quicker way of ‘converting’ sheet music, is there an ‘App’ out there that does it for you for example, or some other tool?

Any suggestions/advice, very welcome :)

Hilary

I used a different numbering tablature myself; and still occasionally use it in awkward passages of music. I wont detail it as it may confuse you further, however  over time I found I used it less  as my experience went on, and now play without completely quite often. 

It can be time consuming numbering nearly every note of a musical page [i have done it hundreds of times] but look at it this way; once you have done it, you have it there for as long as you need, into the future; the hard work is done that once. You may in time need to do less numbering [at least of every bar] as you go on. Once you become more familiar with your instrument and music. Don't see it as a burden, but as an exciting step forward in musicianship. Don't know if that helped you; but keep up the practice!

• Like 1

Some different approaches are discussed in this thread: 

This assumes you already have standard notation in ABC or MuseScore. Here's a discussion about automatically digitizing printed sheet music: