11 'A' Pieces (A way to discover the English Concertina)

Maarten

Hello everybody,

About a year ago, I started playing the English concertina. And I still enjoy it every day. I have even composed a collection of pieces entitled 11 'A' Pieces (A way to discover the English Concertina). Let's say 'my way' to discover the instrument. Why 'A' Pieces? Because in each piece the note A is held as a sustained note. A conscious limitation of the possibilities. But interesting for me as a composing concertina explorer. I am curious what you think of it. 

11 'A' Pieces - Maarten Jense (2021).pdf11 'A' Pieces - Maarten Jense (2021).pdf11 'A' Pieces - Maarten Jense (2021).pdf11 'A' Pieces - Maarten Jense (2021).pdf11 'A' Pieces - Maarten Jense (2021).pdfGoodbye, Maarten

• Like 1

On 10/12/2021 at 10:09 AM, Kathryn Wheeler said:

I don’t play English concertina but I do really understand coming up with new pieces for concertina as a way of exploring the instrument, because that’s exactly what I’ve been doing with my 20b anglo!

Hello Kathryn, Did you publish your pieces for the anglo? I'm very curious.

• 2 months later...
On 10/15/2021 at 12:22 PM, Maarten said:

Hello Kathryn, Did you publish your pieces for the anglo? I'm very curious.

Hi Maarten!

sorry for the delay in getting back to you

I haven’t made them into a book yet - I hadn’t decided if that was the best way forward or whether to make sheet music available for individual tunes instead. I wasn’t sure there’s be any interest!

Hello there; this is Simon new to net site.. You sent me links to your concertina [anglo 20 key] recording video.

I thought it was great; very lively, and the obvious enjoyment and feeling you put into the playing was good to see.  That enjoyment came out in the sound too; as I listened I tried to listen only to the sound itself [other than looking at video image] to see if I could hear that same enthusiasm in the music; and I could!