abbreviations in wheatstone ledgers

Liraman

Hi, I am a musician helping a friend here in Sweden to correctly date a Wheatstone English Concertina. 

My question is about abbreviations. What does ”N P” stand for? See the attachment.
Best regards
JanW

wheatstone.jpg

• 1 year later...

I found my 30 button 1936 anglo - I was interested to see that it's a week older than my mother, RIP.  On its entry it says 55|R.  Rosewood, I assume, was 55 the sales price?

Why doesn't the ledger page have an index for all these terms?  

4 hours ago, LR71 said:

I found my 30 button 1936 anglo - I was interested to see that it's a week older than my mother, RIP.  On its entry it says 55|R.  Rosewood, I assume, was 55 the sales price?  

It's not the price, which was only £8 .. 10s on a late-1920's Wheatstone price list that I have, but No. 55 was the model number for Wheatstone's 30-key rosewood-ended (mid-price range) Anglos.

Why doesn't the ledger page have an index for all these terms?

The ledgers were only factory records, kept by staff who knew what the model numbers and abbreviations meant, whilst we're still working out what they all signified today...

1 hour ago, LR71 said:

Sounds like documenting what all these codes are would make for a worthy collaborative project here.  

The codes themselves are no secret and can be found online in the Wheatstone Concertina Pricelists.

There was a collaborative effort on here with the ledger description abbreviations years ago (I'll try and find it), but even the Wheatstone workers weren't always consistent in their descriptions.

8 hours ago, LR71 said:

I'm still confused, the only pricelists close to my 1936 are from 1910/1947 and just mention Class A or Class 4A, nothing about 55/R.

I was forgetting that there's such a gap in the Anglo price lists there, but I'm fortunate enough to have THREE of them (2 originals and a photocopy) from the inter-war years.