Anglo Vs English

Dear Folks... here's the deal. I am a professional musician, a lowly rhythm guitar player in a (shock) success folk band. So I know a bit about music. I want to buy a concertina for a 9 year old, who sits in with us on percussion right now. He's talented for sure. So I face this problem.... English or Anglo-German.

Now we play a lot of trad Gaelic music, but also trad Old Time Southern (USA) music, gypsy jazz, Beatle covers, and a lot of original music in many styles.

Now, after reading... it seems to my tiny brain that the English style concertina would be grand. Hold a note a long time etc., Then I know trad Irish players favour the Anglo-German one. But not all though, a few brave Gaels imbrace the English system. I understand the technical differences between the two types.

I need input. I am behind the curve on this. A virtual simpleton... I read about Simon Thoumire, he certainly seems to do well on the English concertina. It seems to my mind to have a lot of potential...

enlighten this poor lost soul....

Mise Barra Mac Catháin, ceoltoir le the Bush River Band.

• Thanks 1

Where are you located? The best and oft-repeated recommendation is to provide a situation in which the prospective *player* can try the different kinds and find which seems more natural to them. Some folks take naturally to the English (I was one of those), while others find the adjacent-notes-on-opposite-sides to be insane. The reverse can also be true with the in-and-out of the anglo.

Simon Thoumire is *great*, but he plays the English differently from anyone else. He *holds* it differently.