Fixing air leak

Hi everyone,

I am new to concertina and would like to have some advices from you on fixing air leak.

The problem is with my Lachenal 20b anglo. I can hear air coming out from somewhere when I pull/push without pressing on any button, including the air button. I think the "somewhere" was the 3rd button of C row on the left and not on the bellow. This button has some buzzy noise since the first day but air was not leaking until recently.

I am quite sure that there is no repairer in my country and due to the current situation I might not be going to the UK soon, where I can find repairers. That's why I would like to try fixing it by myself. It will be great if I can have some advices from you on what probably went wrong, and how I can further check and start fixing it.

Thank you.

• 6 months later...

Hi everyone,

Here are some updates about the problem though it seems the question was too dumb to get any reply...

A month after posting here, I ordered a repair kit from Mark Lloyd-Adey and it arrived a couple months back (Good to know that Mark is recovering!). As my little one was born recently, I didn't manage to start the repair work only until now.

I spent about 4 hours to replace all the valves, springs and pads on the bass side. The glue I used was Elmer's glue all. Not sure if it is a good choice but at least it is not permanent. It seems the buzzing problem was solved after doing this, although some more adjustments are needed for the fifth button on G row, which I had to bend the spring a little bit to fit into the limited space.

Now I am thinking whether I should work on the treble side as well even it seems to be doing fine. Another thing is the baffles seems to be not attaching to the wood quite well, so I might need to work out how to glue it back on correctly.

Anyway, this is good experience understanding the inside of a concertina and fortunately I didn't ruin it!

Thanks and have a nice day.

Ted