Fingers slipping

Hey, All:

My concertina has Delrin buttons and sometimes they seem a little slippery. Or maybe it's my fingertips that are smooth and worn from all the typing I do on the computer? Anyone ever consider using a tiny bit of rosin or something to keep fingers from slipping off buttons during the fast bits? Or is it just me? Are bone and brass also slippery?

Thanks.

Christine

It's a bit ironic...Delrin was used (in one design I am aware of) to make sliding a finger off a button easier during fast playing (as a beginner I watched Grey Larsen do it while playing). I've used a concertina with brass buttons and they were sticky to the point of slowing my playing down (hard to do, it's pretty slow already!).

Horses for courses, maybe Delrin is too slippery for some.

Ken

Eh, everyone has different preferences. A left handed carpenter would be perfectly justified in blaming a tool made for right handed people. I haven't personally had issues with delrin, but I prefer larger buttons with domed tops, while other people prefer small buttons with flat tops. You could probably get used to delrin with practice, just as I could probably get used to narrow buttons. But if there are other options out there, like brass buttons that are more sticky, there's no harm in trying them and seeing if they feel better.

• Sad 1

There's not reason to blame the carpenter if he isn't equally happy with small brass keys, wide glass ones, round tops, flat ones, slippery ones, gripping ones. If it were mine, and I perceived that to be a problem,  I'd probably lightly dust the key tops with a green kitchen pad to break the glaze. This should give just a bit more traction without being problematic. Not hard enough to depress the keys, nor to pull them sideways--just lightly across all the tops at once for a few large, light passes. If it doesn't work, stop!

Edited by mdarnton
  • Like 2