Advice, please.

I am a complete novice and should be very grateful for some advice.

I have a musical background playing Piano, Piano Accordion and Melodeon (with difficulty) and would now like to learn to play the Concertina.

I have discounted the Anglo because of difficulties in mastering the changes of direction needed, as testified by my terrible and tortuous melodeon playing.

I have also discounted the English concertina after having tried to play one as my brain can’t seem to deal with the alternate fingering required, even for a simple scale.

So that leaves the Duet system.

However, I am not sure as to which Duet system I should go for. The Hayden system seems to me to be logical and fit in with what I expect, as a Pianist. The Maccann system seems to be a little more hap-hazard.

The problem I have is finding a dealer that has both systems available for me to compare.

Can anybody recommend a dealer or organisation here in the UK that is likely to have both systems or suggest a way that would enable me to try both systems

The dealers I have contacted over the past week, who have all been extremely helpful, don’t seem to have any Hayden concertinas.

All advice and opinions would be gratefully received

thanks

why have you ruled out a Crane? It's sort of similar to the Hayden system with the scale  moving zig zag. I'm sure you have seen this comparison here:

http://www.concertina.com/other-systems/index.htm

Your first step should be Barleycorn concertinas. Very likely Chris (is he still running it? I hope) has specimens of all systems in stock.

Edited by RAc

2 hours ago, RAc said:

why have you ruled out a Crane? It's sort of similar to the Hayden system with the scale  moving zig zag. I'm sure you have seen this comparison here:

http://www.concertina.com/other-systems/index.htm

Your first step should be Barleycorn concertinas. Very likely Chris (is he still running it? I hope) has specimens of all systems in stock.

Hi

Thanks for the reply.