Music For A Found Harmonium - For G/d Anglo

Though I've only just started playing, I want to have something to aspire to!

One of my favourite tracks is Music for a Found Harmonium by Penguin Cafe Orchestra It's played on G/D Anglo here (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uS1JEV50dx0) , but I can't find any music for it.

Can anyone help?

Ideally, numbered keys would be great as I'm still learning to read music! I found some things here (https://thesession.org/tunes/346), but not something that is understandable to me!

I'm not expecting anyone to transcribe, but if you have the sheet music floating around - I would love to see it!

Cheers

Will

Well, if you don't read music and don't read ABC/tab, sheet music is not going to be terribly useful until you learn one of those. But, since you asked:

Most sheet music for this piece/tune is in "score" form, for multiple instruments. It is confusing, because the main melody line trades off between different instruments. Equally to the point, I personally hate, hate, HATE "MFAFH" in "orchestral" form for multiple instruments. Horrid and florid wallow in kitsch, schlock-folk bombast.

What you want, is single-instrument solo sheet music showing the main melody for one instrument. That is what is being played in the youtube video you posted here. So I have found one, but my computer will not copy to bhangout. Here is a try at noting it down, or you can google:

http://www.

traditionalmusic.co.uk/folk-music-mandolin-tab/music_for_a_found_harmonium.htm

I had to break up the address because the cnet Save was eliminating much of it when I typed it all together.

If the key(s) in this mandolin notation does not work well for Anglo concertina, you'll need to transpose it to a key that does. It looks fine and doable to me, though, and it's a good single-melody-line folk version.

That's a very nice concertina rendition in your youtube link.

Edited by ceemonster

brilliant, thankyou!