Any Tips/recommendations For Creating English Concertina Audios And/or

mrubin

Hi,

I'm a former student of Boris Matusewitch, having studied with him from 1969-1971. Over the years, I have thoroughly enjoyed playing all the music I had received from Boris, supplemented by a large repertoire of classical music for violin. I've played for family, friends, colleagues at work, and public events and remember fondly the days when I played 1st and 2nd violin in string ensemble groups.

Today I would like to record many of the pieces I play, classical and popular, as audio and/or video files, to supplement the number of English Concertina classical music recordings on the web. Can anyone give me tips and recommendations on the best way to do this? I have an MS Windows computer, so my tools are currently limited to that operating system. Here are some questions:

• To get the best quality recording, can I use the default music recorder application that comes with Windows, or should I be using some other software?
  • What is the best way to record a video of me playing the concertina? Is doing it at home sufficient, or is it best to do it in a hall that resonates? What is the best backdrop to reduce visual "noise"?
  • I'd like to offer the listener a copy of the music being played. Where is the best place on the web to store an image or PDF of the piece being played?
  • Where should I upload audios / videos to? concertina.net? YouTube? An online audio distribution web site like soundcloud.com?
  • Has this question been answered anywhere else in this forum?
  • Can you think of any other practical tips?

I'd really appreciate hearing practical tips and tricks from readers -- many thanks in advance!

Moshe Rubin

Jerusalem, Israel

I'm far from an expert, but I have some opinions.

• To get the best quality recording, can I use the default music recorder application that comes with Windows, or should I be using some other software?