Performance Anxiety?

David Sasso

Hi all. I'm pretty new to the concertina. I've been playing in the privacy of my home for a little over a year now. Every time I head off to my local session with my octave mandolin, I think, "Should I bring the concertina tonight?" I brought it once, but it stayed quietly in its box the whole night. I'm interested in how you decided it was time to go public. Was it when you had a certain critical number of tunes in your repertoire? When you could finally sustain faster tempos?

Thanks!

David

Edited by David Sasso

Hmmmmmmmmmm

Well I can't play any fast tunes. I think I ventured out (apart from in the cosy atmosphere of the Swedish Squeeze In) when I had a tune or two I felt I could play. I should add that no-one else ever knows the tunes I learn, so I end up playing solo unless a kind strumperson adds some chords. With the faster tunes played at my local jam I busk a sort of slow obbligato of held high notes that harmonise with the tune.

Hi all. I'm pretty new to the concertina. I've been playing in the privacy of my home for a little over a year now. Every time I head off to my local session with my octave mandolin, I say to myself, "Should I bring the concertina tonight?" I actually brought it once, but it stayed quietly in its box the whole night.

The people at my session are so kind, I shouldn't worry, but I'm interested in how any of you decided it was time to go public.

Was it when you had a certain critical number of tunes in your repertoire? When you could finally sustain those faster tempos? How long did you play before you let others hear you?

Thanks!

David

[PS Hope I put this in the right forum]

I think having another instrument - and a session you know - would make things easier. You could take the tina along, and bring it out for just one or 2 tunes. (I'm still a beginner and maybe sit out at least half the tunes, chord along to a few I know well but can't play, and try to join in the rest!)