Sign in to follow this  
vic44

Renelli Italian Concertina

I am new to concertinas so know absolutely nothing about them. I recently acquired one that I believe to be in great shape from an estate. I am interested in finding out more about the instrument that I have and what it may be worth for insurance purposes, etc. Any information would be greatly appreciated!post-11224-0-64027900-1402000863_thumb.jpgpost-11224-0-06528900-1402000865_thumb.jpgpost-11224-0-61074100-1402000866_thumb.jpgpost-11224-0-94271100-1402000867_thumb.jpg

I have two Italian 20 buttons models like this, a red celluloid Renelli and a mahogany Stagi like this one, both with double reeds. Most of these were made in the same factory in Italy over much of the last half century or more. If they are working well and in tune (neither condition is common), I've seen them go for $75-$150. It would never occur to me to insure mine....(in contrast with some other instruments I own). Play it, have fun, and no need to worry about it - best kind of musical instrument!

Ken

You'll see pretty much (maybe identical) designs sold under the names "Bastari", "Stagi", "Silvertone", and other house-brand names. Generally all Italian-made, post-WWII and made in largely this design up to the present. I've bought them blind as low as $40 (though occasionally got stuck with a lemon), and agree they're worth vaguely $100ish in decent playing shape.