Alistair Anderson's Concertina On "english International"?

Greetings all--a newbie here in the land of concertinas. My question is about the sound of Alistair's concertina on "English International". It has an interesting tone that sounds rather like a harmonica, and I wonder if anyone can tell me about that instrument and/or the type of reeds, etc.

Another question: I notice that the tuning on most of the EC's that I've tried (Morse, Stagi, Jackie--accordion reed EC's) seems to make playing harmonies in thirds rather harsh. I suppose this has to do with "equal tempered" tuning or something like that? Or is it just the nature of single reeds playing in close harmony? Accordions don't seem to have quite the same harshness when playing on a single-reed stop--maybe because of the larger instrument body? Or something?

If it has to do with tuning, is it possible or desirable to have an English concertina fine-tuned for playing in "folk keys", like C, G, and D?

Any insights or speculations are welcome.

Edited by Oren

A hearty welcome to the land of concertinas!

As to the harsh thirds, this has been discussed a lot here. The effect increases due to the free reeds' complete lack in decay but is in fact a result of equal temperament.

In order to avoid the harshness an EC can be tuned in one of the conventional meantone temperaments because many of the enharmonic substitutes are available for differenced tuning.

Some fellow members, for instance Geoff Woof, will have more to say on this subject. As for me I would however be critical of the sounding of (open) fitfths (which I make a lot use of).

Best wishes - Wolf

Edited by blue eyed sailor

Many years ago I sat down to dinner with Alistair at my folk club and talked about concertinas after which he performed. I went out afterwards and traded my anglo for an EC. As I recall he had an Aeola at the time but details as to its range, age, etc escape me now.