I'm Getting My First Concertina Today!

Hello folks! Newbie here.

Well, I finally pulled the trigger and bought a concertina from The Button Box. Ordered a Rochelle, which I understand is a reasonably decent beginner's model with which to test the concertina waters. I've got the Bramich book & CD coming in the same shipment.

UPS says it's "out for delivery" today! (I've been following the shipment online for the past several days--it frustratingly has been sitting here at the Nashville hub all weekend. Maybe it's a good omen that it was waiting for St. Patrick's Day to arrive?)

I come from a piano accordion background (thus the Gravatar) and have long wanted to give a diatonic instrument a try. I figured that something like a button accordion might have just enough similarities to throw off my piano accordion playing, but that a concertina might be "different enough" for my brain to think of as a fundamentally separate instrument. Maybe I'm wrong. We'll see!

Oh, and the fact that a starter concertina seems to be about half as expensive as a starter B/C button accordion also helped steer me in the concertina direction too. :-)

Anyway, just thought I'd introduce myself and share my excitement with people who can relate.

Any advice/support is welcome. Thanks!

Edited by Jeff Jetton

Hi Jeff,

Welcome to concertina.net (1st post) and the wonderful world of concertinas.

Yes, auspicious indeed the arrival of your anglo on St. Patrick's Day. Good craic!

May you have the best of concertina adventures.

Greg

Welcome aboard!

I've found this forum instructive and entertaining and fine fellowship. Of course, it's important to remember that the forum is to support your concertina life, not your concertina being a justification for being on the forum!