Morris Tunes

Nanette Hooker

I don't really know. I just started learning tunes for the Moreton Bay Fig Morris Dancers. But the first ones I am set to learning are South Austrailia, and Trunkles. Easy and important in that order.

The tunes I have been given to learn are;

Priority One (Learn First)

Donkey Riding

Old Nolly Oxford

Young Collins

Lads-A-Bunchum

Lillibulero

Blue Bells of Scotland

None So Pretty

South Austrailia

Trunkles

Priority Two (Learn only after learning all Priority One tunes)

The Old Woman Tossed Up In A Blanket

Gallant Weaver

Ladies Pleasure

The Blue-Eyed Stranger

Old Peculiar / Virginia

Priority Three

Waltzing Matilda

Dearist Dickey

And I don't seem to know where Cuckoo's Nest belongs in the list.

Why did you ask? I hope this list doesn't lead you astray.

Russell Hedges

Folks posting the names of Morris tunes should really include the name of the tradition (village), if possible, for the old Cotswold tunes. Most have several different versions. "Princess Royal", e.g., has variants in both major and minor keys. (If concertizing, I usually play the Bampton version in Gm, though I can play along with any of them if playing with others for dancing.)

Rumford MM (Essex UK) use standard tunes e.g. Vandals (Lichfield), Postmans Knock (Adderbury), Young Collins (Bledington). We also use other tunes that fit the dance e.g. a variation of 'Just as the Tide was Flowing' for Valentines (Fieldtown).

Other non-standard tunes include Primrose Polka (alternative Jingle Bells) to fit a Fieldtown style dance, 'The Maid and the Palmer' to fit a Badby style dance, 'Jenny Lind' to a Lichfield style and a Bledington stick dance to British Grenadier/Ode to Joy/Rule Britannia.

Other standard tunes include 'Jockey to the Fair' (Bucknell?), 'Balance the Straw' (Fieldtown), 'Trunkles', 'William and Nancy' (Fieldtown), 'Orange in Bloom', 'Rigs of Marlow', 'Old Woman Tossed Up', 'Maid of the Mill' (Ilmington), 'Bride in the Camp' (Eynsham)