Wood or metal end? Test results...

A chance remark in a conversation between myself and Jurgen Suttner at Willie Clancy Week a couple of months ago led me to perform this test. It is a handful of notes played twice on the same concertina. Each pair of notes consists of a note played with a wooden end (composite ebony/2mm plywood/ebony) fitted and a note played with a metal end (.65 nickel silver) of the same pattern fitted. I'll leave it to you to sort out which note is which.

• Replies 49
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Dear Chris,

As a repairman I was so distracted by the valve noise that I forgot to listen to the notes. Could you please play them again? :rolleyes: :lol:

I'd venture that the first note was metal end and the second wood. First note seemed to have more overtones especially higher ones.

Of course I'm only guessing and it may be your turn to remind me of why I repair rather than play for a living! :o :P

Keep up the good work!

Greg

Dear Chris,

As a repairman I was so distracted by the valve noise that I forgot to listen to the notes. Could you please play them again? :rolleyes: :lol:

Well, you know what they say, never buy a mechanic's own car ;) There is an underlying hum on the recording, it did not seem worth redoing the recording for as it does not interfere with the ability to listen to the notes.

I'd venture that the first note was metal end and the second wood. First note seemed to have more overtones especially higher ones.

Of course I'm only guessing and it may be your turn to remind me of why I repair rather than play for a living! :o :P

I think I'll let a few others have a listen before I say. I feel it makes you listen from first principles rather than listening for confirmation...

Chris

That is a fairly difficult test for the old ears but I think I detect a little more 'top' with the first note, but not in all the groups.