EC absolute beginner-- ordered Jack-- learning material suggestions?

asher

Hi All

I just wanted to say hello and thank everyone for this forum. I have been lurking here for a couple of weeks, since I decided to try and take up a musical instrument after a lag of over 30 years. I played various woodwinds as a child and teenager, but then forgot for so long.

It all started, actually, with a personal attraction to the bandoneon as played in Argentine music. I did a bit of research and quickly realised that bandoneons are REALLY complicated instruments, but then saw info about smaller concertinas and read and read and read...

I have to really say that the majority of useful info I found was on these forums.

I finally decided to go with English Concertina to start, as the key layout seems very logical to me, as it relates to written music, and because I am interested in various styles of music and not particularly Irish or English traditional...

I listened to various online recordings/videos, etc. and decided I liked the lower register of the baritone models especially.(I tend to like the sound of cello more than violin as well)

My budget is limited but I wanted to start with an instrument that was at least "OK" and not too fussy nor too old and in need of maintenance that I cannot do myself.

Hence, again, I thank this forum for the various discussions on budget instruments and particularly the positive feedback about the Jack / Jackie / Rochelle / Elise models from Concertina Connection

So, I just now placed an order for a Jack baritone EC from Harry Geuns in Belgium. (I am in Italy so it is pretty convenient for buying and shipping.) He seems well known and well regarded and he was very quick to respond to my questions and arrange the order

Now I just have to be patient until it arrives. Really looking forward to learning.