can anyone identify this concertina?

DavidL

Hi, this is my first post so hello to all at concertina.net. I have just come back to the EC after a 30 year gap, having been lured astray by fretted instruments! I have just acquired a 48 Key treble concertina and the fellow I got it from had been told when he bought it that it was a Lachenal. There are no markings inside or outside other than the serial number 59873 which is on the reed pan, bellows and action box. It has metal ends and 6 fold bellows, interestingly, the top C reeds on the right hand side have been removed, presumably to act as an air valve. Is this common? I'm really enjoying the concertina but wish I had stuck with it all those years ago. Anyway any comments appreciated.

David

post-8765-017671900 1281716426_thumb.jpg

David, from that one photo it does look like a Lachenal. Im surprised the number is not much higher -- like over 100000 -- but I'm no expert on English models. Welcome back to the free reed fold and hope you enjoy your new squeeze.

Ross Schlabach

Hi, this is my first post so hello to all at concertina.net. I have just come back to the EC after a 30 year gap, having been lured astray by fretted instruments! I have just acquired a 48 Key treble concertina and the fellow I got it from had been told when he bought it that it was a Lachenal. There are no markings inside or outside other than the serial number 59873 which is on the reed pan, bellows and action box. It has metal ends and 6 fold bellows, interestingly, the top C reeds on the right hand side have been removed, presumably to act as an air valve. Is this common? I'm really enjoying the concertina but wish I had stuck with it all those years ago. Anyway any comments appreciated.

If you can take a decent picture part of the action (the levers, springs and posts on the inside) that would help with ID. Lachenal used distinctive action designs.

Look familiar?

Lachenal #43434