Sign in to follow this  
Priscilla

My third c'tina lesson book

Hi!

I just wanted to say, for all you beginners who perhaps think you've hit a plateau... I think one of the solutions is to get a beginners book from someone new. It allows you to approach it a slightly different way than perhaps you're used to, and it's exciting, suddenly you have a breakthrough and can progress a little further. This happened to me. I started with Mel Bay's Deluxe C'tina Book by Frank Converse which is wonderful! But after a while, when I could play all my favorite tunes in it, I didn't really know what to do next. Then a friend gave me Absolute Beginners C'tina by Mick Bramich and that was really cool, and it explained it from a totally different angle, and I surged ahead and was learning new songs. Then I stagnated again, but I've just recently acquired Frank Edgley's The Anglo C'tina tutor book, and it's wonderful! Once again, taught slightly differently, I'm off running, learning new songs, learning a new way to play them! So, I would warmly recommend this to all beginners, just keep trying different beginner books because each one has something unique to teach.

(I don't know if there are a lot of "intermediate" books, my impression is...there are beginners and then advanced, and not much inbetween...don't know what I'll do when I get there)