Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: A China Scam
Concertina.net Discussion Forums > Discussion Forums > Buy & Sell
Lemon
I was surprised ohmy.gif , of course, to see that the same Wheatstone (even the same number) that I bought yesterday from Chris Algar, now is for sale in China for much less mad.gif !
See eBay 7417250033
URL: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vie...50033%26fvi%3D1
Of course it's a scam. I informed eBay immediately.
I wonder how long it wil take before eBay does something about it.

(edited for URL)
Dirge
Ebay seems to let Chinamen have special latitude to muck about. Not only do straight rackets turn up regularly but there are endless 'buy a valuable instrument for 99p, only £70 postage' ads. Ebay would only get a commission on the 99p part. Why do they allow their system to be clogged up with this nonsense? Anyone have an insight?
Lemon
eBay has removed the item. Rather quick, took about one day. The link in my original post doesn't work anymore.
This China guy had several other musical instruments for sale too. Probably all scams.
Leo
http://cgi.ebay.com/WHEATSTONE-AEOLA-56-KE...1QQcmdZViewItem

Does this mean that only changing the name is ok. I know i'm new but..... is it back?? or is this another one? I can't wait until I can tell them apart. for now just practicing.
Lemon
This is another scam, but of the same kind. This Aeola was sold on eBay on May 20 for GBP 1920, see http://cgi.ebay.com/WHEATSTONE-AEOLA-56-KE...1QQcmdZViewItem

And it is now offered again by a China scammer, Buy-it-now offer.
Each time, the name of the scammer is different. This time it is gj54jj. Maybe he registered himself on Feb. 16, 2006, a hundred times or so.
Each time, the feedback is (0) of course.
Leo
I do remember the text of this recently, or am I mistaken. This could be an amusing game with the sellers similar to "hide and seek" , if it wasn't so costly to take it seriously. Maybe "how many cats are in the tree hidden picture would be a better analogy. I'm still learning but practice makes perfect, even in observation practices.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Jefferies-concertina_W...1QQcmdZViewItem

Again I realy DO appreciate the expertise on this forum and the patience of the more senior people with their knowledge teaching newbies like me and bring us up to speed in some of the pitfalls (senior meaning here longer, not older, I'm getting a late start on the age thing myself)
Clive Thorne
At least these Chinese scams are easy to spot.

Clive.
Leo
QUOTE(Clive Thorne @ May 31 2006, 08:56 AM) *
At least these Chinese scams are easy to spot.

Clive.



I'm thinking you're right, but only for now. I suspect they will become harder to spot as they get mad for getting caught so often. Fool me once shame on you fool me twice shame one me, fool me three times I deserve it. I wonder how long it will take for them to get better at hiding their real intentions as time goes by. One of the best ways is to hide it in plain sight. They could even use this forum to critique their efforts to see how fast they are caught if at all. I suspect if one in ten gets through then it would still pay for a scammer to try for the reward is great (I wish I thought of it, but I don't lean in those directions, perhaps too trusting). If they're really out to get me, does that make me not paranoid?? Or I'm paranoid and they're out to get me. I don't remember which goes first. I'm glad I'm only new at this concertina hobby, passion, avocation, etc. and not born yesterday.
Leo
Since my identification skill are still lacking. Would this be a steal?????????????????? or no

http://cgi.ebay.com/WHEATSTONE-English-48-...1QQcmdZViewItem

or would this be better???????????????????

http://cgi.ebay.com/Wheatstone-Concertina_...1QQcmdZViewItem

Thanks
Leo
Steven
QUOTE(Leo @ Jun 13 2006, 06:19 PM) *
Since my identification skill are still lacking. Would this be a steal?????????????????? or no

http://cgi.ebay.com/WHEATSTONE-English-48-...1QQcmdZViewItem

Amazing! They didn't even wait for the (presumably) original, legitimate posting to end.
Here it is
In fact, they end on the same day, only a few hours apart!

blink.gif
Steven
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.