Don't forget to be very vigilant when it comes to scams and payments (especially checks!). Here's a site member's experience:
http://www.concertin...p...&#entry7143
Page 1 of 1
Beware Of Scams! Use an escrow and/or other such service...
#2
Posted 06 February 2008 - 01:22 PM
While not necessarily a scam, but still in "Beware County"
From Accordion Heaven at http://www.accordion...UsedNewCon.html
"Stagi 56 key English
What does BMW, Mercedes, and Lamborghini all have in common? Just like this beautiful Stagi, they are the Cadillac's of the industry. This superbly crafted Italian instrument has not only the ability to play in any key, but also plays where the notes are the same in and out on the bellows. So if you are looking for lifelong growth and challenges, or just rewarding yourself; this instrument will prove worthy over the test of time." (The price?-Mere $1295.)
If it looks like Mercedes Benz, honks like Cadillac and weighs like BMW, but costs like Lada, what is it?
BTW, I never knew Lamborghini, Mercedes and BMW are Cadillacs of the industry.
From Accordion Heaven at http://www.accordion...UsedNewCon.html
"Stagi 56 key English
What does BMW, Mercedes, and Lamborghini all have in common? Just like this beautiful Stagi, they are the Cadillac's of the industry. This superbly crafted Italian instrument has not only the ability to play in any key, but also plays where the notes are the same in and out on the bellows. So if you are looking for lifelong growth and challenges, or just rewarding yourself; this instrument will prove worthy over the test of time." (The price?-Mere $1295.)
If it looks like Mercedes Benz, honks like Cadillac and weighs like BMW, but costs like Lada, what is it?
BTW, I never knew Lamborghini, Mercedes and BMW are Cadillacs of the industry.
#3
Posted 10 February 2009 - 05:35 PM
Paul Schwartz, on Mar 25 2004, 12:16 AM, said:
Don't forget to be very vigilant when it comes to scams and payments (especially checks!). Here's a site member's experience:
http://www.concertin...p...&#entry7143
http://www.concertin...p...&#entry7143
Posting here as well as under (David Levine @ Feb 10 2009, 01:55 PM) - please delete if inappropriate here, but one needs to be careful...
QUOTE (David Levine @ Feb 10 2009, 01:55 PM) *
Paypal has many critics. Here is one of the most vocal.
When I offer something on Ebay I often offer to pay basic shipping fees if payment is made via wire transfer or cashiers draft. You can generally suss out whether a transaction will be safe. In any case, Paypal isn't always as safe as they'd like you to believe. For Paypal to refund fees in the case of an unhappy event the seller would have to have funds in his account sufficient to cover the amount of the sale.
Whoops - that link to critic of paypal produced a phishing warning
Results
Danger: AVG Search-Shield has detected active threats on this page and has blocked access for your protection.
The page you are trying to access has been identified as a known exploit, phishing, or social engineering web site and therefore has been blocked for your safety. Without protection, such as that in the AVG Security Toolbar and AVG, your computer is at risk of being compromised, corrupted or having your identity stolen. Please follow one of the suggestions below to continue.
IP Address: 69.64.89.67
For additional information click here.
Suggestions:
* Click the “Back” button on your browser to return to the previous page and choose another link (recommended).
* If you would like to ignore the warning and continue to the page, click here (not recommended)
#4
Posted 13 February 2009 - 03:27 AM
Regarding the phishing caution- I just went to the paypalsucks.com site with no problem. My Mac is generally very useful in detecting fraudulent sites. I also went to merchantinc.com with no problem- via a link that was on the previous site.
Let's hope that the nefarious Paypal doesn't have gremlins wandering over the net, interfering with our surfing.
Let's hope that the nefarious Paypal doesn't have gremlins wandering over the net, interfering with our surfing.
The world is too much with us; late and soon,
Getting and spending, we lay waste our powers;
Getting and spending, we lay waste our powers;
#5
Posted 14 February 2009 - 06:08 PM
David Levine, on Feb 13 2009, 03:27 AM, said:
Regarding the phishing caution- I just went to the paypalsucks.com site with no problem. My Mac is generally very useful in detecting fraudulent sites. I also went to merchantinc.com with no problem- via a link that was on the previous site.
Let's hope that the nefarious Paypal doesn't have gremlins wandering over the net, interfering with our surfing.
Let's hope that the nefarious Paypal doesn't have gremlins wandering over the net, interfering with our surfing.
It may well be a PC (Personal Concertina)XP thing for AVG Anti Virus. As we all know, MacCann [sic] players don't usually get viral attacks unless they are playing both ends against the middle in a duet with XP for Mac.....
But will keep away from it anyway.
Another ebay scam doing the rounds is fredericc233(just google frederic233 ebay to see dangers listed) who claims to be waiting for payment for an ebay numbered item and one is very tempted to click but in fact it is a very detailed phish. DONT click and watch out for similar.
#6
Posted 22 February 2009 - 11:07 AM
Paul Schwartz, on Mar 25 2004, 12:16 AM, said:
Don't forget to be very vigilant when it comes to scams and payments (especially checks!). Here's a site member's experience:
http://www.concertin...p...&#entry7143
http://www.concertin...p...&#entry7143
SCAMS EBAY ID THEFT AND PSEUDONYMS
See link below for just happened ID theft and other similar.
It is also indicates why pseudonyms may be useful for making like difficult for scamsters.
I cannot find the CNET link for the discussion on pseudonyms about a month ago -- I thought it too complicated to rehearse all the security argumenets in favour -- but my comments would have been similar to some of those in this link below.
BTW there are a number of bike patrol policemen who are members of the my-mc forum so they are not unaware of what crooks get up to -- and can still be victims.
http://www.my-mc.com...html?1235126678
#7
Posted 15 November 2009 - 05:30 AM
WATCH OUT
There is a 40b Wheatstone Anglo that has just appeared on ebay. Although the feedback looks good, this is obviously a case of stolen identity as the sellers profile is clearly from Singapore and yet, for the concertina, is listed as Virginia. Also the concertina auction page states that no bids will be accepted, only a Buy It Now price of £1000 to be send directly to an email address.
Neil
There is a 40b Wheatstone Anglo that has just appeared on ebay. Although the feedback looks good, this is obviously a case of stolen identity as the sellers profile is clearly from Singapore and yet, for the concertina, is listed as Virginia. Also the concertina auction page states that no bids will be accepted, only a Buy It Now price of £1000 to be send directly to an email address.
Neil
Page 1 of 1

Sign In
Register
Help

MultiQuote