Beware Of Scams!
#19
Posted 05 December 2010 - 08:57 PM
#20
Posted 06 December 2010 - 07:23 AM
Still, I reckon it's far better for us to be safe, rather than sorry & warn folks in advance, when things look a bit iffy, just in case.
Cheers
Dick
#21
Posted 06 December 2010 - 07:37 AM
Which one of our UK members volunteers to set up an appointment and see the instruments in person?
Greg
#22
Posted 06 December 2010 - 07:47 AM
"I have just spoken to a customer of mine who knew the the owner, who is now sadly deceased.
So this is indeed a genuine sale. The concertinas were purchased from Chris Algar at Barleycorn.
Lets hope the relatives get the best prices for these wonderful instruments."
If only I had the money!
Chris
#23
Posted 06 December 2010 - 07:48 AM
That's good to know Greg.Pictures of the instruments seem to be appearing one by one in each listing. The background is consistent and to me lends some credence of legitimacy. Precious little written information except concerning the Dipper.
If these are in fact genuine, then they are certainly getting a fair bit of publicity on the net.
Which one of our UK members volunteers to set up an appointment and see the instruments in person?
Greg
Sorry, but much as I'd love to see them, I'm across the water myself, in Norn Iron & with 6" of Snow in my garden, it snowing heavily right now & the country lane we are on being completely blocked ..... I'm afraid I ain't going nowhere!
I look forward to learning more about them though & of their former owner.
Cheers
Dick
#24
Posted 06 December 2010 - 08:34 AM
I've now been in touch with my friend's daughter, who has confirmed that it is her brother who has posted the instruments on e-bay. From my memory of last year, when I played most of the instruments, they were all in good condition.
My friend's favourite was the B flat Jefferies, which played like a dream. My own favourite was the D/G Jefferies, which was immaculate. I don't think all the concertinas came from Chris Algar, but a majority certainly did.
Pity I'm not in the market
Peter
#25
Posted 06 December 2010 - 09:06 AM
#26
Posted 06 December 2010 - 09:47 AM
the same seller is currently listing 3 separate jeffries concertinas
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/JEFFRIES-ANGLO-CONCERTINA-C-G-45-BUTTON-/250738288096?pt=UK_MusicalInstr_Keyboard_RL&hash=item3a612aa5e0
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/JEFFRIES-ANGLO-CONCERTINA-D-G-31-BUTTON-/250738287564?pt=UK_MusicalInstr_Keyboard_RL&hash=item3a612aa3cc
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/JEFFRIES-ANGLO-CONCERTINA-Bb-F-/250738287059?pt=UK_MusicalInstr_Keyboard_RL&hash=item3a612aa1d3
the asking price on all 3 is £4750. None have photos. The descriptions are minimal.
It is the same seller advertising the Dipper, though there is a more extensive description in that case.
- John Wild
If you go to melodeon.net you can find more info on these concertinas, and some melodeons, they appear to be legit.
melodeon.net thread
#27
Posted 06 December 2010 - 05:19 PM
#28
Posted 06 December 2010 - 09:03 PM
etc. etc. etc.
#29
Posted 25 May 2011 - 09:57 AM
#30
Posted 25 May 2011 - 01:16 PM
You should list this as a new thread Karlosales. Also, it would be a help if you supply photos and your location. I'm sure someone would eant to come and take a look at the instrument.I have a H.Crabb Concertina for sale with,two, hand written signed letters explaining adjustments to concertina.The serial no(17402)dates it 1962. The Concertina is in unused mint condition! Extremely loud! With the importance of the letters,I expect a value of around £3000
Edited by Paul Read, 25 May 2011 - 01:18 PM.
#33
Posted 08 January 2013 - 08:18 AM
Double reed Wheatstone
#34
Posted 08 January 2013 - 09:12 AM
You don't say whether or not the owner is actually selling.Heads up. I thought there was only one of these and I know the owner. I've asked him but beware if you're thinking of buying.
Double reed Wheatstone
This would help determine whether this is a scam.
Edited by SteveS, 08 January 2013 - 09:13 AM.
#35
Posted 08 January 2013 - 10:44 AM
Apologies, I meant to put Crabb and the owner isn't sellingYou don't say whether or not the owner is actually selling.
Heads up. I thought there was only one of these and I know the owner. I've asked him but beware if you're thinking of buying.
Double reed Wheatstone
This would help determine whether this is a scam.
#36
Posted 08 January 2013 - 02:46 PM
Edited by JimLucas, 08 January 2013 - 02:48 PM.
0 user(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users











