No, I am sorry, imparsonation is not permitted under these rules (or indeed any ruleset after 1688). I would welcome advice from Mr Trimming on this but I believe you are in a state of complete Merton until you have personally bought all the current participants in the game a pint of bitter.
NICHOLAS: And your challenge is...?
Why, thank you, I don't mind if I do. Doom Bar for preference, please.
Just coming up for air!
I see that we have a little problem with Steve attempting an off-board (illegal) move.
I'd like to sit on the fence (luckily, no sharp points!) on this one. In his defence, I see that Steve lives at some great distance, at a location where reception might not be so good. I would suggest careful re-tuning to Radio 4
, coupled with analysis of the Radio Times
to ensure that the correct programme is selected.
I would have thought, under the circumstances, that Steve's last move, whilst illegal, should just be declared void, and that he should proceed without penalty. That's just my view, but bear in mind that I'm only an occasional player.
For a more informed opinion, I would suggest that we ask Samantha to comment, as she's never missed a game.
PS - back to work, now!