Jump to content


Photo

Is It Me


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 tony

tony

    Chatty concertinist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 191 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham, England

Posted 14 November 2007 - 06:34 AM

I have one or two problems and I’m not sure Why. It may be something I am doing wrong.

1. I have to log in every time I use c.net.

2. When I click on ‘new posts’ and click on the unread icon I am taken to the first entry ( about 11 Nov in many cases) and I have to click back and try again to get to the unread part.

3. When I click on ‘Mark all posts as read’ it seems to work but next time I log on many of the read ones are listed again.

Anyone else have any of these problems or is it just me?

Thanks

#2 meltzer

meltzer

    Chatty concertinist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 218 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South East London

Posted 14 November 2007 - 07:45 AM

It's just you. :(

(Either than, or everybody except me).

Sounds like a cookies problem to me.

Edited by meltzer, 14 November 2007 - 07:45 AM.


#3 tony

tony

    Chatty concertinist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 191 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham, England

Posted 14 November 2007 - 08:01 AM

Sounds like a cookies problem to me.


How would one resolve a problem with cookies?

Thanks

Edited by tony, 14 November 2007 - 08:02 AM.


#4 meltzer

meltzer

    Chatty concertinist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 218 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South East London

Posted 14 November 2007 - 08:33 AM

For Internet Explorer: -

Tools -> Internet Options -> Privacy, then drag the little bar thingy downwards. See if that helps. If it doesn't, then it must be something else.

#5 spindizzy

spindizzy

    Heavyweight Boxer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 911 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Cheshire, UK

Posted 14 November 2007 - 10:19 AM

I have one or two problems and I’m not sure Why. It may be something I am doing wrong.

1. I have to log in every time I use c.net.

2. When I click on ‘new posts’ and click on the unread icon I am taken to the first entry ( about 11 Nov in many cases) and I have to click back and try again to get to the unread part.

3. When I click on ‘Mark all posts as read’ it seems to work but next time I log on many of the read ones are listed again.

Anyone else have any of these problems or is it just me?

Thanks


I often have to log in ... not always though, it seems a bit unpredictable.
I don't mind doing that, but I have an annoying problem with New Posts, I only occasionally get little flags to take you to the newest unread item. This didn't happen immediately after the major upgrade, but a few weeks later.

I've tried clearing old cookies, and this is happening from several machines (work and home) and a selection of OS's (linux and WinXP) and both Firefox and Explorer.

#6 tony

tony

    Chatty concertinist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 191 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham, England

Posted 14 November 2007 - 10:51 AM

For Internet Explorer: -

Tools -> Internet Options -> Privacy, then drag the little bar thingy downwards. See if that helps. If it doesn't, then it must be something else.


I checked this and the setting is as it has always been (Default) so I clicked on the advanced tab and set it to 'prompt' new cookies and when it did 'prompt' I set it to always allow cookies from this web site.

Seems to have worked.

Thanks

#7 Chris Ghent

Chris Ghent

    Heavyweight Boxer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1056 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Blue Mountains NSW

Posted 14 November 2007 - 02:11 PM

The mark all posts as read button is not working...

Chris

#8 tony

tony

    Chatty concertinist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 191 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham, England

Posted 14 November 2007 - 03:10 PM

For Internet Explorer: -

Tools -> Internet Options -> Privacy, then drag the little bar thingy downwards. See if that helps. If it doesn't, then it must be something else.


I checked this and the setting is as it has always been (Default) so I clicked on the advanced tab and set it to 'prompt' new cookies and when it did 'prompt' I set it to always allow cookies from this web site.

Seems to have worked.

Thanks


It didn't work after all. So what now?

Thanks

#9 Robin Harrison

Robin Harrison

    Heavyweight Boxer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 724 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris,Ontario,Canada.

Posted 14 November 2007 - 10:01 PM

Hey Tony........

1. I have to log in every time I use c.net.

Me too................I'll follow with interest...Robin

#10 David Levine

David Levine

    Heavyweight Boxer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 997 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Co Clare, Ireland / Hopkinton, NH, USA

Posted 25 November 2007 - 05:39 AM

Hey Tony........

1. I have to log in every time I use c.net.

Me too................I'll follow with interest...Robin


Sell it and get a Mac - you'll never go back.
Welcome to the world of no crashes, no hackers, few patches and fewer problems.
You'll wonder why you didn't do it years ago.

#11 tony

tony

    Chatty concertinist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 191 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham, England

Posted 25 November 2007 - 07:10 AM

Hey Tony........

1. I have to log in every time I use c.net.

Me too................I'll follow with interest...Robin


Sell it and get a Mac - you'll never go back.
Welcome to the world of no crashes, no hackers, few patches and fewer problems.
You'll wonder why you didn't do it years ago.



Well I did consider a Mac when I bought this PC but it wouldn't have made any difference since this is the only web site in which these problems occur.

#12 spindizzy

spindizzy

    Heavyweight Boxer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 911 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Cheshire, UK

Posted 06 December 2007 - 11:52 AM

The mark all posts as read button is not working...

Chris


Fingers crossed - it seems to work again!
.. and I'm getting automatically logged in :rolleyes:

#13 fiddlerjoebob

fiddlerjoebob

    Chatty concertinist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 165 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Central Vermont, USA

Posted 06 December 2007 - 12:11 PM

Yes, for me too, and its so much nicer.

randy

Edited by fiddlerjoebob, 06 December 2007 - 12:11 PM.


#14 Ken_Coles

Ken_Coles

    Heavyweight Boxer

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1665 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana, Pennsylvania, and Logansport, Indiana, U.S.A.

Posted 06 December 2007 - 12:22 PM

It's not just crossed fingers; the log shows the Invision software was updated yesterday, so these bugs from 2.3.2 (which we installed in October) may now be fixed in 2.3.3. No doubt Paul has been busy recently! Back to your concertinas, everyone.

Ken

#15 tony

tony

    Chatty concertinist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 191 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham, England

Posted 06 December 2007 - 04:34 PM

Well done and thank you.

#16 Chris Ghent

Chris Ghent

    Heavyweight Boxer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1056 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Blue Mountains NSW

Posted 06 December 2007 - 05:24 PM

Ditto

Chris

#17 tony

tony

    Chatty concertinist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 191 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham, England

Posted 07 December 2007 - 06:59 AM

It's not just crossed fingers; the log shows the Invision software was updated yesterday, so these bugs from 2.3.2 (which we installed in October) may now be fixed in 2.3.3. No doubt Paul has been busy recently! Back to your concertinas, everyone.

Ken


Well it was nice while it lasted but it seems to have reverted back.

#18 David Barnert

David Barnert

    Ineluctable Opinionmaker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3051 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Albany, NY, USA

Posted 09 December 2007 - 11:43 AM

FWIW, many of the problems mentioned above have been plaguing me ever since the upgrade a couple of months ago, and I am using a Mac. I have not, however, had trouble with the "Mark all forums as read and return to index" button, which I now have to rely upon as the only way I can keep track of what I've read and what I haven't.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users